ICC CWC 2023 Schedule: Venue, Date, Time, Playing XI

India as 2011 World Cup Winner
India as 2011 World Cup Winner

icc cwc 2023icc cwc 2023 scheduleicc cwc 2023 ticketsICC World Cup 2023

On 27th June, ICC announced the much-awaited schedule for the upcoming mega event of ICC CWC 2023 Schedule. The Mega Event will kick off from 5th October and will continue to play with heart-beats of fan for 46 days i.e., till 19th November, 2023.

On October 5, the action will begin at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad with the finalists from previous editions, England and New Zealand. On October 8, in Chennai, India will play Australia in their opening match of the tournament. On October 15, entire world will witness the rivalry of arch-rivals, India and Pakistan at Ahmedabad.

The tournament will feature ten teams, with the first eight having previously qualified through the CWC Super League. The last two berths will be determined after the conclusion of the Zimbabwe Qualifier event on July 9.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule

Check ICC CWC 2023 Schedule:

ICC CWC 2023 Schedule
ICC CWC 2023 Schedule

India’s Schedule for ICC World Cup 2023

MatchDateIndia vsVenueResult
18th OctoberAustraliaChennaiYet to decide
211th OctoberAfghanistanDelhiYet to decide
315th OctoberPakistanAhmedabadYet to decide
419th OctoberBangladeshPuneYet to decide
522th OctoberNew ZealandDharamshalaYet to decide
629th OctoberEnglandLucknowYet to decide
72nd NovemberQualifier 2MumbaiYet to decide
85th NovemberSouth AfricaKolkataYet to decide
911th NovemberQualifier 1BengaluruYet to decide

Check Top 2 Qualifiers for ICC CWC 2023

ICC World Cup Qualifiers Schedule 2023

Ticket price for Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Ticket Prices of Eden Gardens


Total of 10 venues have been selected:

  1. Chennai
  2. Mumbai
  3. Hyderabad
  4. Ahmedabad
  5. Dharamsala
  6. Delhi
  7. Lucknow
  8. Pune
  9. Kolkata
  10. Bengaluru

Warm up Matches

Warm up matches will be held in Guwahati, Thiruvananthapuram and Hyderabad from 29th September to 3rd October.

Knockout Rounds

The teams who are able to finish in the top four in the league stage points table will advance to the knockout stages.

On November 15th, the first semi-final will take place in Mumbai, while the second semi-final will take place in Kolkata the following day. There will be a spare day for each semifinal.

The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the Final on November 19, with November 20 set aside as a backup date.

All the three knockout matches will be day-night matches starting from 2:00pm IST.

ICC World Cup Champions so far

Take a look at ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup winners from 1975 till 2023:

YearHosted VenueFinalistsResult
1975England Australia vs West IndiesWest Indies won
by 17 runs
1979England West Indies vs EnglandWest Indies won
by 92 runs
1983England India vs West IndiesIndia won
by 43 runs
1987India England vs Australia Australia won
by 7 runs
1992New Zealand,
Pakistan vs EnglandPakistan won
by 22 runs
1996India, Sri Lanka,
Australia vs Sri LankaSri Lanka won
by 7 wickets
1999England Pakistan vs AustraliaAustralia won
by 8 wickets
2003South Africa Australia vs IndiaAustralia won
by 125 runs
2007West Indies Sri Lanka vs AustraliaAustralia won
by 53 runs
Sri Lanka 
India vs Sri LankaIndia won
by 6 wickets
New Zealand 
Australia vs New ZealandAustralia won
by 7 wickets
2019 EnglandNew Zealand vs EnglandEngland won
by boundaries count

World Cup history

The men’s One Day International (ODI) Cricket World Cup is the top international competition. The International Cricket Council (ICC), the organisation responsible for overseeing the competition, plans early qualification stages that lead to a finals tournament that takes place every four years.

The competition is the fourth-largest event in terms of viewership in the world. The ICC claims that it is the most important contest and the epitome of success in the sport. Total of 12 world cups have been played so far in the history of International Cricket with Australia the most successful team in the world having 5 World Cup titles, followed by West Indies, India both with 2 World Cup Championship titles and then Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England each with 1 World Cup trophy.

The first Winner of World Cup in One Day International Cricket is West Indies while the last edition was won by England by boundaries count.

All 10 nations that participate in Test and ODI matches, as well as additional nations who earn a spot through the World Cup Qualifier, compete in the Cricket World Cup finals.

3 thoughts on “ICC CWC 2023 Schedule: Venue, Date, Time, Playing XI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *